Breaking News
  • Welcome to the 2023-2024 school year!
Lebanon Trail High School News

The Vanguard

Lebanon Trail High School News

The Vanguard

Lebanon Trail High School News

The Vanguard

Time to shake it off to 1989 (Taylor’s version) – An album review


Nearly one month after 1989 (Taylor’s version) made its debut, people have ensured that the pop sensation remains in the top musical charts. This album holds many accolades and has a special place not only in my heart but in the hearts of many. 


These are all of the tracks in Swift’s latest re-recorded album: 

  1. Welcome to NY (Taylor’s Version)
  2. Blank Space (Taylor’s Version)
  3. Style (Taylor’s Version)
  4. Out Of The Woods (Taylor’s Version)
  5. All You Had To Do Was Stay (Taylor’s Version)
  6. Shake It Off (Taylor’s Version)
  7. I Wish You Would (Taylor’s Version)
  8. Bad Blood (Taylor’s Version)
  9. Wildest Dreams (Taylor’s Version)
  10. How You Get The Girl (Taylor’s Version)
  11. This Love (Taylor’s Version)
  12. I Know Places (Taylor’s Version)
  13. Clean (Taylor’s Version)
  14. Wonderland (Taylor’s Version)
  15. You Are In Love (Taylor’s Version)
  16. New Romantics (Taylor’s Version)

From The Vault:

  1. S***! (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault)
  2. Say Don’t Go (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault)
  3. Now That We Don’t Talk (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault)
  4. Suburban Legends (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault)
  5. Is It Over Now? (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault)


My top three tracks on the original 1989 album are “Welcome to New York”, “You Are In Love”, and “Clean” which are also my favorite tracks on the re-recording. “Welcome to New York” illustrates what it is like to encounter a new place and the anticipation, excitement, and joy that accompany it. I believe that it is the perfect song to start the album as it ushers in welcome change. “You Are In Love” captures the indescribable feeling of falling in love and her descriptions illustrate how there is no need for words because love surrounds her and you can truly feel it everywhere. Lastly, “Clean” describes the feeling of peace and letting go of the past. It shows the feeling of being unburdened and having the ability to move forward without any burdens. My favorite vault track is “Is It Over Now?”. I love its repetition and allusions to a certain ex-boyfriend, capturing my attention and becoming stuck in my own head with its catchy lyrics. 

As listeners are propelled back into a memorable era, I wanted to take some time to reflect on what this re-recording means to me. 1989 was an album that signifies so much to me. It was an album that included songs from my childhood (looking at you “Shake It Off” and “Blank Space”) and was beautifully nostalgic for me. Being able to relive listening to it for the first time through Swift’s rerecording is an unforgettable experience and I am incredibly proud of Swift for reclaiming her music. Swift reclaiming her music paves the way for others to protect their music and allows me to reclaim the memories I made as a child with this album.

1989 marked the album that shifted Swift’s musical genre from country to pop music and delighted many fans with her incorporation of musical aspects that reflected the time period after she named the album. She used the symbolism of her birth year to show her musical rebirth. Utilizing synthesizers and catchy beats, the album appealed to Swifties and those who encountered Swift for the first time. This illustrates how universal and unique the album is and how its themes of independence and self-acceptance ring true. Although 1989 (Taylor’s version) essentially holds the same songs (with the exception of a few bonus tracks from the vault) it is not a carbon copy of the original album. There are more elements of synth and slight differences, however, I believe that this symbolizes the growth that Swift has gone through. After releasing the rerecording nine years to the day, this change occurs but the underlying message remains unchanged and shows humanity’s theme of progress. This album is “changed” but is ultimately hers, which is what music is all about sharing experiences with others. What a blessing it is that she chose to share it with others once again. Listen to 1989 (Taylor’s version) on Spotify, YouTube, Apple Music, and other streaming platforms: it’s been waiting for you.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover
About the Contributor
Addie Salvosa, Editor-in-chief
As the editor-in-chief of Vanguard News for the 2023-2024 school year, Addie Salvosa is a junior passionate about Journalism and learning new things. Addie has been part of the Vanguard News for three years now and loves writing and reading. In her free time, Addie enjoys listening to Taylor Swift and volunteering around the community. She is excited to immerse herself in words and looks forward to helping the Newspaper grow this year! Contact: [email protected]

Comments (0)

All The Vanguard Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *